The Guacamole Burger

I was sitting around lazily with my boyfriend (also known as my kitchen secretary because being known as a “kitchen aid” isn’t very meaningful) when it occurred to me that my avocados were sitting on the table slowly creeping up on becoming too old to use. I went into the kitchen thinking that I was going to make an avocado dip for crackers (via my kitchen secretary’s advice), but instead, as he was struggling to figure out how to make burgers out of the organic beef we had in our refrigerator, a new idea came to mind. The Guacamole Burger!

IMG_2663

Oh my goodness gracious were these babies delicious! The boyfriend ended up having three and my brother had the other two. They didn’t last long! The avocado gave it the ultimate flavor kick right in the center, BAM!

IMG_2664

Another great thing about this burger is that the guacamole flavor isn’t in the avocado–it’s in the MEAT. So with every bite, even if you’re missing the avocado (such as on the ends of the burger), you still get that great guacamole spice. Oh-so-delicious.

IMG_2662

The burgers are hand-shaped. This was a little difficult but with the right technique, anybody could accomplish the job and make these delicious burgers. When I say delicious, I mean business. And no need to cook these on the grill so don’t worry about that one. These burgers came out perfectly amazing pan-fried.

If there are any questions or comments, please don’t hesitate to send an email or leave a comment on the post. I hope you enjoy the first recipe!

The Guacamole Burger:

Yeilds 5 burgers

1 lb ground beef
1 medium avocado
1 tsp kosher salt
1 egg
1/4 c chopped onion
1/2 c bread crumbs
1 tbsp ground cayenne red pepper
1 tbsp garlic powder
1 1/2 tbsp Tony Cachere’s More Spice Seasoning (or other spice seasoning of your choice)
Burger Buns
Lettuce
Tomato
Optional:
Sliced Cheese
Bacon

  1. In a bowl, mash avocado and mix with salt. The texture should look like a smooth guacamole.
  2. In a separate bowl, beat egg. Add chopped onion, bread crumbs, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, and the spice seasoning and mix until well combined.
  3. In the egg and spice mixture, add in the beef (raw) and mix until the egg mixture is a part of the beef.
  4. Spoon about 1/3 cup of beef (you can eyeball this) onto a cutting board and roll into a ball. Flatten into a sphere with a divet in the center. Spoon 1 tbsp avocado into the divet and cover with another flattened meat ball (slightly smaller than the meat on bottom).
  5. Close the edges of the burger to ensure no avocado is showing through. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until you are out of beef.
  6. Heat a greased skillet over medium heat. Once warm, place patties on the skillet and cover. Cook until patties are browned halfway up and slightly browned on top (about 4-5 minutes). Flip (I used tongs) and cook additional 4-5 minutes.
  7. Serve on a bun with lettuce and tomato (maybe even cheese and bacon if you’re feeling fancy)!

6 thoughts on “The Guacamole Burger

  1. Oh my! I’ll have to try these!!
    Also, helpful tip I’ve learned, when avos start to approach “eat me now or I’ll die and you’ll cry!” stage, pop them into the fridge. This will extend their lives by a few days if you’re not able to use them that second. And let’s be serious, avocados go through the following stages.. too hard, too hard, still too hard, oh my goodness if you don’t use me this second I’ll be a disgusting brown slop. Who has time for that? 🙂

    Like

  2. Delicious and flavorful fliling, but a bit too spicy and I only used 1/2 tsp of the cayenne. A big hit with the family, including my 5 year old, but next time will only use about 1/4 tsp of cayenne. Will definitely be on our Mexican rotation!

    Like

Leave a comment